Shah Deniz field


The Shah Deniz (SD) field was discovered in 1999. It is located on the deep water shelf of the Caspian Sea, 70 km south-east of Baku, in water depths ranging from 50 to 500 m. It is one of the world’s largest gas-condensate fields. In June 1999, the discovery of a giant Shah Deniz field with 1.2 trillion cubic meters of gas and 240 million tons of condensate and the successful implementation of the Shah Deniz gas project have recognized Azerbaijan as a gas exporting country to the world.

800x450 SD new

The Agreement on exploration, development and production of the Shah Deniz field in the Azerbaijani sector of the Caspian Sea was signed on June 4, 1996 and entered into force on 17 October of the same year. Shah Deniz is structured as an unincorporated Joint Venture (JV) partnership. BP is the operator of the Shah Deniz JV.

Shah Deniz Stage 1 began operations in 2006. It has the capacity to produce around 10 billion cubic meters of gas per annum (bcma) and approximately 50,000 barrels a day of condensate.

In 2017, the field produced 10.2 billion cubic metres (bcm) of gas. Until now the field produced 89.5 billion standard cubic metres (bcm) of gas and about 22.2 million tonnes of condensate.

Shah Deniz Stage 2

Shah Deniz Stage 2, or Full Field Development (FFD) is a giant project that will add a further 16 billion cubic meters per year (bcma) of gas production to the approximately 10 bcma produced by Shah Deniz Stage 1.

The current concept for Shah Deniz Stage 2 includes:

  • two new bridge-linked offshore platforms.
  • 26 gas production wells which will be drilled with 2 semi-submersible rigs.
  • 500 km of subsea pipelines will link the wells with the onshore terminal.
  • upgrade of the offshore construction vessels
  • expansion of the Sangachal terminal to accommodate the new gas processing and compression facilities.

043 3631 01 b 660x330

The first gas on the “Shah Deniz Stage 2” project is expected to be produced in 2018.
The shares of companies on the “Shah Deniz” project are: 

BP - 28,8 %

NICO - 10%

TPAO - 19%

LUKOIL - 10%

PETRONAS - 15,5 %

SGC (Upstream) - 6,7 %

SOCAR (AzŞD) - 10%

Saytda yerləşdirilən məlumatlar və saytın dizaynı. © Energetika Nazirliyi 2018. Bütün hüquqlar qorunub

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.